Ministerio de Transportes y Movilidad Sostenible



On 29 March 2017, the United Kingdom officially requested to leave the European Union (Brexit), invoking Article 50 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union.

After more than two years of negotiations with extensions agreed between the parties, the final withdrawal took place on 31 January 2020, when the Withdrawal Agreement will come into effect, laying out the conditions for the United Kingdom to leave the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM).

The entry into force of the Withdrawal Agreement gave rise to a transitional period, in force until 31 December 2020, in which practically all European legislation (acquis communautaire) continued to apply to the United Kingdom and its citizens, in order to achieve an orderly exit while negotiating the terms of the future relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom.

After nine rounds of negotiations between negotiators from the European Union and the United Kingdom, a Trade and Cooperation Agreement was reached. The provisions of the Withdrawal Agreement, together with those of the Trade and Cooperation Agreement between the EU and the United Kingdom, are those applicable to the relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom from 1 January 2021.

The Spanish Government passed a Royal Decree-Law, laying down national contingency measures on issues not addressed by EU regulations in preparation for any possible scenario.

The aim of this section is to address any potential questions and concerns of citizens and professionals regarding the impact that Brexit could have in those fields that fall under this Department's purview.